Magali wins by split decisions

Magali wins by split decisions


DAVAO CITY — Carlo “The Ferocious” Magali of Bohol scored a split decision over Al “Rock” Toyogon of Gingoog City to win both the vacant Asian Boxing Federation super featherweight title and vacant Philippine super featherweight title last Dec. 21 at the Manila Arena in Manila.

The 33-year old Magali won from the scores of judges Gil Co and Oliver Garcia with 115-112 while Toyogon won judge Robert Bridges with
116-111. Magali scored his 25th win with 13 knockout against 13 defeats and three draws while the 21-year old Toyogon suffered his six defeat against 10 wins and one draw.

Magali, a former Orient and Pacific Boxing Federation super featherweight champion used his vast experience in beating Toyogon.

International Highland Boxing Promoter Brico Santig, Asian Boxing Federation Super featherweight and Philippine super featherweight Champion Carlo Magali, Asian Boxing Federation (ABF) President Naris Singwancha, IBO Vice President and Supervisor Steve Scott

Meanwhile, Carl Jammes “Wonder Boy” Martin of Ifugao remained undefeated with a 3rd round TKO over Philip Luis Cuerdo of Mandaluyong to retain his Philippine Boxing Federation bantamweight title in the main supporting event.

The 20-year old Martin posted his 15th win and 14th knockout against no loss while Cuerdo suffered his nine loss against 11 wins and one draw.

In the two other championships, Li Liu of China and Asad Asif Khan of India scored in contrasting wins.

The 29-year old Liu scored a TKO in the 1st round against Suphansa Phooong of Thailand to win the vacant World Boxing Association Asia Female lightweight title while 26-year old Khan settled a Unanimous decision against Aiman Abu bakar of Malaysia to win the vacant International Boxing Organization Oceania Oceania-Orient featherweight title.

The other results: Renz Rosia of Mandaluyong scored an upset over world-rated Aston Palicte of Bago City via a unanimous decision; Romer Pinili TKO’d Rolly Llino in the 3rd round; Kristian Hernandez knockout Jomar Borbon in the 3rd round; Weljon Mindoro knockout Lyndon Castillo in the 1st round; Harry Omac beat Harvy Jhon Guya by a UD; Lorenz Dumam-ag TKO’d Anthony Moralez in the 2nd round; Junel Miranda beat Rudmer Diocades by a UD.

The boxing promoter was Brico Santig and Darwin Miller Dep-ay of Highland International Boxing Promotion.

Special thanks to our Sponsors :
Games and Amusement Board Chairman Abraham Khalil Mitra, Manila Arena headed by Mr. Atong Ang, Pagcor, Alaxan Fr (Unilab), DTC, Arambulo and Tactic Equipment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *