DAVAO CITY – The first PSC-Pacquiao Amateur Boxing Cup will formally kick off with the preliminary competition for Mindanao on December 16 and 17 in General Santos City.
“This project will call for the nationwide development of the interest and participation in boxing as a sport,” said Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) Chairman William “Butch” Ramirez.
The event, which is organized and sponsored by PSC in coordination with the office of 8-division world champion Sen. Manny Pacquiao, is a weekend boxing tournament that will go around nationwide to scout potential amateur boxers that can be included in the pool of national boxers.
After the preliminary in Gensan, the Mindanao Quarter Finals will be conducted in Kidapawan City on February 10 and 11 while the Mindanao Semi-Finals will be in Cagayan de Oro City on March 3.
The Mindanao Finals will be hosted by Davao City on March 24.
For Luzon, the preliminary is on January 27 and 28 in Sorsogon, Quarter Finals on February 24-25 in Lucena City, Semi-Finals on March 17 in Pangasinan and Finals on April 7 in Baguio City.
In Visayas, the preliminary is on February 3-4 in Ormoc City, Quarter Finals on Feb. 17-18 in Bago City, Semi-Finals on March 10 in Antique and the Finals on March 31 in Maasin City.
The National Championships will have its preliminaries on April 14-15 in Mandaluyong City, Quarter Finals on April 21-22 in Tagbilaran City, Semi-Finals on April 28 in Tagum City and Finals on May 5 in Gen. Santos City.
The categories in the Junior Boys and Girls Division (15 to 16 yrs. Old are the Pinweight (44-46 kg.), Light flyweight (48 kg.), Flyweight (50 kg.), Light Bantamweight (52 kg.) and Bantamweight (54 kg.) while in Youth Boys (17-18 yrs. Old) are Light flyweight (46-49 kg.), Flyweight (52 kg.), Bantamweight (56 kg.), Lightweight (60 kg.) and Light Welterweight (64 kg.)
The Youth Girls (17-18) only has four weight categories – Light Flyweight (45-48 kg.), Flyweight (52 kg.), Bantamweight (54 kg.) and Featherweight (57 kg.).
The cut-off date in the Junior is from 2001-2002 while in the Youth is 1999-2000.
This is open to all amateur boxing clubs, organizations, teams and local government units. However, only one team per LGU/team is allowed to participate.
“No national boxers in the PSC roster will be allowed to join the tournament to give newcomers a chance to participate,” said Ramirez. (LITO DELOS REYES)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *