id=”attachment_37828″ align=”alignnone” width=”238″] Minproba president Jilson Basang (center) flanked by Manny Pacquiao’s Filipino trainers Buboy Fernandez (left) and Raides “Nonoy” Neri.[/caption]
DAVAO CITY — Everything is now set for the much-awaited double championship fight in the Mindanao Professional Boxing Association (Minproba) on July 24 at 1 p.m. at the South Cotabato Gym in Koronadal City.
“Two brand new golden belts from Minproba are now up for grabs,” said promoter Raides “Nonoy” Neri of MP Promotions.
The belts are sponsored by PS Solution and MB Northstar Boxing Promotions. It was designed by Minproba president Engr. Jilson Basang and were manufactured in one of the top awards’ craft makers in Davao City.
The two title fights will both be supervised by Minproba Secretary Lito delos Reyes and handled by referee Ramuel Ovalo.
Undefeated Vincent Astrolabio (8-0, 7 knockouts) of MP Davao Gym is facing Joe Tejones (8-3-0, 4 KOs) of the Wowie Lalanto Stable from Valencia City, Bukidnon for the vacant Minproba super flyweight title.
The other title fight pits MP Davao’s Genesis “Cobra” Libranza (11-1-0, 8 KOs) against Bukidnon’s Romulo “Demon” Libranza (7-11-3) for the vacant Minproba flyweight crown.
There will also be two 10-rounders featuring the long-awaited rematch of former WBC Asian Boxing Council super lightweight champion 2Adones Cabalquinto (24-3-0, 15 KOs) of MP Davao against former Philippine Boxing Federation super lightweight champion Romeo “Hammer” Jakosalem (18-14-1, 1 KO) of Hagonoy and Orlie Silvestre (8-3-1, 5 KOs) versus Lyster Jun “The Silent Operator” Pronco (9-14-1, 6 KOs) of Malaybalay.
The other bouts in the undercard are: Aries Buenavidez (7-2-0, 3 KOs) vs. Rodel “Hardworker” Tejares (21-43-7, 6 KOs) of Bukidnon (8 rds.-112 lbs.);
Joel Lino (6-0-1) of Koronadal City vs. Joey Antonio (3-4-3) of Pres. Roxas (6 rds.-112 lbs.);
Mervin Lulu (3-2-1) of Sultan Kudarat vs. Ryan Makiputin (12-8-2, 4 KOs) of Bukidnon (6 rds.-112 lbs.);
Joebert Torrena vs. Rex Padrogane (2-11-0, 1 KO) of Surallah (6 rds.-108 lbs.);
Vincent Dayaganon (2-1-2) vs. Jessie James Boiles (3-7-2, 3 KOs);
Marklin Itim (0-1-0) of Bansalan vs. Frankie Batuon (1-4-0) of Koronadal (6 rds.-108 lbs.);
Ruben Davidas vs. Jorge Perez (4 rds.-108 lbs.)
“Selected amateur boxers will also see action in the curtain raisers,” said event coordinator Teodoro “Doroy” Denonong, an elected municipal councilor of Norala.
The fund-raising event, which is a post-T’nalak Festival celebration is presented by the Philippine Councilors League South Cotabato Chapter headed by SB Member Sheela Mar Baclaan of Norala.
It is supported by the provincial government of South Cotabato under Gov. Daisy Abance-Fuentes and the Koronadal City headed by Mayor Peter Miguel.
The official weigh-in will be held on July 23 at 11 a.m. at the Capitol Building. It will be supervised by Datu Fahd Yasser Sinsuat of the Games and Amusements Board (GAB) Southern Mindanao Office.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *