CRISTOBAL DISQUALIFIED AGAIN IN MEXICO

rosekie-boxer

By LITO DELOS REYES

FILIPINO super lightweight boxer Rosekie “Kapre” Cristobal was again disqualified for the second time during his fight in Mexico last Saturday night at the Polideportivo Centenario in Los Mochis, Sinaloa.

Mexican referee Julio Cesar Mariscal disqualified Cristobal for continuously attempting to make an illegal headbutt in 1:33 of the third round. Cristobal was already warned earlier in the first and second rounds by the referee.

At the start of the third round, Cristobal was again warned by the referee for an illegal headbutt. But the 22-year old Cristobal continued to use his head against his Mexican opponent Nery Saguilan forcing the referee to disqualify him.

It was the second disqualification loss for the 5-foot-10 Cristobal, who was also disqualified in his first fight in Mexico.

Cristobal, a native of President Roxas, North Cotabato was first disqualified for low blows against defending champion Marcos Villasana Jr. in the 10th round of their championship fight for the WBC Latino lightweight title last August 20, 2016 at the Centro de Convenciones in Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico.

Cristobal, formerly managed by the Sonshine Sports Promotions suffered his second straight loss against 12 wins with nine knockouts, while the 28-year old Saguila improved his record to 38 wins with 13 knockouts, 7 losses and 1 draw.

Cristobal and his manager Jilson Basang of MB Boxing Promotions are both disappointed by the referee’s decision.

Cristobal last won via a 4th round technical knockout against Jhun Ryan Quimbo on December 12, 2015 at the Almendras Gym in Davao City. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *