(Top) RV Denega of Gen. Santos City knocks down Wesley Caga to win by a split decision, 4-1 in the Youth Boys bantamweight category in Day 2 of the Mindanao Quarter Finals held at the Kidapawan City Gym.

KIDAPAWAN CITY (Feb. 12) — General Santos City and Sultan Kudarat both added two more wins in the final day of action of the Mindanao Quarter Finals in the PSC-Pacquiao Amateur Boxing Cup last Sunday at the Kidapawan City Gym.
Ariel Almamento and RV Denega scored contrasting wins for the Generals, who will advanced with a total of four boxers into the Semi-Finals on March 3 in Cagayan de Oro City.
Almamento outpointed Aglayan’s Kenn Macapas by a unanimous decision in the Youth Boys light flyweight (46-49 kg.) division while Denega escaped with a split decision against Cagayan de Oro’s Wesley Caga, 4-1 in the bantamweight (56 kg.) category.
CDO, however, still got the most number of fighters going to the semi-finals with a total of six after earlier posting five wins in Day 1 last Saturday.
It was only John Ignatius Macas, who earned CDO’s lone win in Day 2 via a referee-stopped-contest in 1:21 of Round 2 over Kidapawan’s Junarie Biendima in the flyweight (52 kg.) category.
Sultan Kudarat, on the other hand, also posted two victories last Sunday courtesy of Jobert Paala (52 kg.) and Remark Brillo (56 kg.) who crushed Sarangani’s Jomar Baliwan via RSC-injury (nose bleed) in Round 2 and Davao’s Joshua Padual by split decision (4-1), respectively.
Digos City under coach Renato Moreno emerged as the second best team with a total of five wins in the two-day event sponsored by the Philippine Sports Commission in coordination with the office of Sen. Manny Pacquiao.
Elmar James Panerio (56 kg.) edged out Kidapawan’s Jerson Arigola by a split decision (4-1) to give Digos’ 5th win.
Polomolok tied Sultan Kudarat with a total of three win after another a walk-over win by light flyweight Jake Sone Saludar over Koronadal’s C-Jay Higado.
Davao’s John Ednoel Prevendido crushed CDO’s Romilo Junio while Labangal’s Richard Sequino trounced Digos’ Louie Jay Albino both by unanimous decisions in the 46-49 kg.
The other results:
Youth Boys Flyweight (52 kg.)
Arceboy Baranggan (Aglayan) def. Curt Nnelgy Manigsasa (Davao) by split decision (3-2)
Kenneth Egano (Sarangani) def. Criz Sander Laurente (Gensan) by walk-over
Youth Boys Bantamweight (56 kg.)
Darrel Literal (Malungon) def. Marjon Ibones (Labangal) by walk-over

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *