May 25, 2020


GAB Commissioner Mar Masanguid

City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio’s Chief of Staff Atty. Raul Nadela Jr. (left) shows the letter of proposal from Marikina City personally delivered by GAB Commissioner Mar Masanguid, president/founder of the Solid Duterte Supporters Group ‘D Original Nationwide last Monday.


MARIKINA City, the Shoe Capital of the Philippines, is proposing for a sister city relationship with Davao City.
A letter of proposal was formally delivered in behalf of Marikina City Mayor Marcelino R. Teodoro last Monday at the office of City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio by former Davao City Barangay Captain Mario “Mar” Masanguid, founding president of the Solid Duterte Supporters Group ‘D Original Nationwide.

The letter was received by lawyer Raul Nadela Jr., Chief of Staff of Mayor Duterte-Carpio, who was in Cebu City last Monday to attend a meeting with his father President Rody Duterte.

“We believe that such sister-partnership will allow us to have a more profound awareness and appreciation of each other’s cities, fostering educational, economic, cultural and professional exchanges,” Mayor Teodoro said in his letter.

“Further , we look forward to pursuing learning opportunities about best practices in local governance, community management, as well as collaborative activities which are of mutual benefit to our constituents,” he added.

Masanguid, now commissioner of the Games and Amusements Board (GAB) is positive that Mayor Inday Sara will accept this proposal of Marikina City.

Marikina already has sisterhood with three other cities – Alaminos in Pangasinan, Bacolod City and Iloilo City. It also has a sisterhood with two international cities – Brampton in Canada (2005) and Busan in South Korea (2012).

Davao City, on the other hand, has 10 sister cities – Baguio, Manila, Quezon City, Cebu City, Bayugan, Cotabato, Zamboanga City, Legazpi (Albay), Bacoor (Cavite) and San Juan City (Metro Manila).

Davao also has 10 sister cities in other countries – Jinjiang, Fujian (China), Nanning (China), Manado (Indonesia), Pekanbaru (Indonesia), Koror (Palau), Panama City (Panama), Vidadivostok (Russia), Keelung (Taiwan), Kausai County, Hawaii (United States) and Tacoma, Washington (US).